Events calendar

AIO/OIO schools



DRSTP Newsletter

Educational guide

Annual report




Delta ITP

ITP Utrecht


The Netherlands has a long tradition in theoretical physics which involves research performed at university institutes, industrial laboratories, and government institutions. The strength of this research area is, for a large part, based on the unity of methods employed in a wide range of applications. This manifests itself both in scientific research and in academic education.

To structure and coordinate the graduate education in theoretical physics, the Dutch Research School of Theoretical Physics (DRSTP) was formed. The school is a cooperation between the theoretical physics groups of six Dutch universities: University of Amsterdam (UvA), Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VUA), University of Groningen (RUG), Leiden University (UL), Radboud University Nijmegen (RU), Utrecht University (UU) (commissioner) and of the National Institute for Subatomic Physics (Nikhef). In addition, there are several associate members.

The DRSTP was accredited in 1994 by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and reaccredited in 1999, 2004 and 2010. ECOS (Erkenningscommissie Onderzoekscholen) [Research School Accreditation Committee] of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) renewed the official recognition of the DRSTP as a Research School for another six years. This recognizes and endorses the prominent role the DRSTP has been playing in the Dutch theoretical physics community since its inception in 1994 in maintaining high standards of excellence in both research and graduate education.

The Mission Statement provides further details about the objectives of the DRSTP.

Upcoming (DRSTP) events:

DRSTP Postgraduate AIO/OIO School 2017 Statistical Physics and Theory of Condensed Matter (SPTCM) (20 - 31 March 2017)

DRSTP National Seminar Theoretical High Energy Physics (Friday, 24 March 2017)

DRSTP Symposium Trends in Theory (11 + 12 May 2017)

Upcoming Delta ITP events:
Advanced Topics in Theoretical Physics (spring 2017)
This spring's Delta ITP Course Advanced Topics in Theoretical Physics aimed at advanced Masterís students, PhD and postdoctoral researchers, is built around the general theme of "A three-fold way to condensed matter physics".
Lectures will take place on Mondays at 11:15-13:00, followed by a study/exercise session 13:45- end. The location of this semester's course will be the University of Leiden.

Module 1

Random Matrix Theory, Carlo Beenakker (UL)
Lectures: Feb 13, 20, Mar 6, 13
Exam: Mar 20
Room: HL214

Delta ITP Triangle Meetings

Delta ITP Newsletter: November 2016

Other events:
8th Bangalore School on Statistical Physics will be held during 28 Jun - 14 July 2017 at ICTS, Bangalore, India

Last update: 13-02-2017, 12.39