Upcoming Seminars


week 17 - 2017

Wednesday, 26 April 2017
The Nico van Kampen Colloquium in Theoretical Physics
Speaker: Robert Harlander (Aachen)
Time & Place: 16h00-17h00 (coffee/tea at 15h45) in KBG PANGEA
Title: The Higgs boson: from makeshift to precision tool

Thursday, 27 April 2017
King's Day, public holiday


week 18 - 2017

Monday, 1 May 2017
PhD Defense Sandeep Jain (UU)
Promotor: Gerard Barkema
Time & Place: 14h30 in Academiegebouw, Dompein 29, Utrecht
Title thesis: Simulation of graphene mechanics

Wednesday, 3 May 2017
Condensed Matter Theory Seminar
Time & Place: 16h00-17h00 in BBG 7.12 - TAKE NOTE OF TIME
Speaker: Axel Cubero Cortes (UU)
Title: tba

Thursday, 4 May 2017
Cosmology Journal Club
Speaker: Luca Santoni (UU)
Time & Place: 12h00-13h30 in BBG 7.12
Title: tba

Friday, 5 May 2017
Liberation Day, University is closed


week 19 - 2017

Monday, 8 May 2017
Dear colleague,
We would like to invite you for two upcoming colloquia organised by Complex Systems Studies Colloquium Prof. Clint Sprott: Self-organization - Nature's Intelligent Design
Clint Sprott, Emeritus Professor of Physics, University of Wisconsin – Madison
Host: Professor Stefan Vandoren and professor Henk Stoof, Institute for Theoretical Physics
Date: 8 May 2017
Time: 16h -17h (+ drinks afterwards)
Venue: Pangea Lecture Hall, Victor J. Koningsberger Building

Colloquium Prof. Angel Sānchez: Social physics: Understanding Complex Socio-technical Systems
Angel Sānchez, Professor of Applied Mathematics and Vice-Chair for Research, University Carlos III of Madrid
Department of Mathematics and Institute UC3M-BS for Financial Big Data
Host: Professor Vincent Buskens, Department of Sociology
Date: 15 May 2017
Time: 15h30 – 17h (+ drinks afterwards)
Venue: Pangea Lecture Hall, Victor J. Koningsberger Building
We hope to see you there.
Kind regards,
On behalf of the focus area Complex Systems Studies,
Quirine Laumans

Wednesday, 10 May 2017
String Theory Seminar
Speaker: Kepa Sousa (Madrid)
Time & Place: 12h00-13h00 in BBG 7.12
Title: tba

The Nico van Kampen Colloquium in Theoretical Physics
Speaker: Liesbeth Janssen (TU Eindhoven)
Time & Place: 16h00-17h00 (coffee/tea at 15h45) in KBG PANGEA
Title: tba

Thursday, 11 May 2017
DRSTP Symposium Trends in Theory 2017

Friday, 12 May 2017
DRSTP Symposium Trends in Theory 2017


week 20 - 2017

Monday, 15 May 2017
Dear colleague,
We would like to invite you for a colloquia organised by Complex Systems Studies
Colloquium Prof. Angel Sānchez: Social physics: Understanding Complex Socio-technical Systems
Angel Sānchez, Professor of Applied Mathematics and Vice-Chair for Research, University Carlos III of Madrid
Department of Mathematics and Institute UC3M-BS for Financial Big Data
Host: Professor Vincent Buskens, Department of Sociology
Date: 15 May 2017
Time: 15h30 – 17h (+ drinks afterwards)
Venue: Pangea Lecture Hall, Victor J. Koningsberger Building
We hope to see you there.
Kind regards,
On behalf of the focus area Complex Systems Studies,
Quirine Laumans

Wednesday, 17 May 2017
Condensed Matter Theory Seminar
Time & Place: 16h00-17h00 in BBG 7.12 - TAKE NOTE OF TIME
Speaker: tba
Title: tba

Thursday, 18 May 2017
Cosmology Seminar
Speaker: Surjeet Rajendran (UC Berkeley)
Time & Place: 14h00-15h00 in BBG 7.12
Title: tba

String Theory Seminar
Speaker: tba
Time & Place: 16h00-17h00 in BBG 7.12
Title: tba

Department Day in 2017 is scheduled on Thursday May 18.


week 21 - 2017

Wednesday, 24 May 2017
The Nico van Kampen Colloquium in Theoretical Physics
Speaker: David Mateos (ICREA, Barcelona)
Time & Place: 16h00-17h00 (coffee/tea at 15h45) in KBG PANGEA
Title: tba

Thursday, 25 May 2017
Ascension Day, University closed

Friday, 26 May 2017
University closed, compulsory leave day


week 22 - 2017

Wednesday, 31 May 2017
Condensed Matter Theory Seminar
Time & Place: 16h00-17h00 in BBG 7.12 - TAKE NOTE OF TIME
Speaker: tba
Title: tba

Friday, 2 June 2017
Joint event:
Theoretical Cosmology Meeting and Delta ITP Holography Triangular Meeting
Time & Place: 14h00-17800 in KBG ATLAS
Speakers: tba
Title: tba

Abstracts:

Drinks in BBG, 7th floor, coffee room


week 23 - 2017

Monday, 5 June 2017
Whitsun, University closed

Wednesday, 7 June 2017
The Nico van Kampen Colloquium in Theoretical Physics
Speaker: tba
Time & Place: 16h00-17h00 (coffee/tea at 15h45) in KBG PANGEA
Title: tba


week 24 - 2017

Wednesday, 14 June 2017
Condensed Matter Theory Seminar
Time & Place: 16h00-17h00 in BBG 7.12 - TAKE NOTE OF TIME
Speaker: tba
Title: tba


week 25 - 2017

Tuesday, 20 June 2017
COMSOL workshop
BBG 7.12 08.00 - 19.00.
Sela Samin

Wednesday, 21 June 2017
The Nico van Kampen Colloquium in Theoretical Physics
Speaker: tba
Time & Place: 16h00-17h00 (coffee/tea at 15h45) in KBG PANGEA
Title: tba