Events calendar

AIO/OIO schools



DRSTP Newsletter

Educational guide

Annual report




Delta ITP

ITP Utrecht


The Netherlands has a long tradition in theoretical physics which involves research performed at university institutes, industrial laboratories, and government institutions. The strength of this research area is, for a large part, based on the unity of methods employed in a wide range of applications. This manifests itself both in scientific research and in academic education.

The Dutch Research School of Theoretical Physics (DRSTP) was established in 1993 to structure and coordinate the graduate education in theoretical physics. The school is a cooperation between the theoretical physics groups of six Dutch universities: University of Amsterdam (UvA), Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VUA), University of Groningen (RUG), Leiden University (UL), Radboud University Nijmegen (RU), Utrecht University (UU) (commissioner) and of the National Institute for Subatomic Physics (Nikhef). In addition, there are several associate members.

The DRSTP was accredited in 1994 by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW)/Research School Accreditation Committee (ECOS) (Erkenningscommissie Onderzoekscholen) and reaccredited in 1999, 2004 and 2010.

In 2017 members of a selected review committee (Prof. Daan Frenkel; Prof. Anne Davis and Prof. Peter Wölfle) were asked to perform a review of the DRSTP over the period 2010-2016, in accordance with the Standard Evaluation Protocol (2015-2021). The School scored three times excellent for:
Quality of the PhD educational programme;
Relevance of the DRSTP's educational activities to society;
Viability of the DRSTP.

The School has been accredited for another six years (2017-2023). A detailed report from the committee members is available here.
This report presents the review and assessments by the committee, based on the information in the provided documentation and gathered during the site visit in Utrecht.
This recognizes and endorses the prominent role the DRSTP has been playing in the Dutch Theoretical Physics community since its inception in 1994 in maintaining high standards of excellence in both research and graduate education.

* Reaccreditation News, 29 November 2017
* Article Leidsch Dagblad, 1 November 2017

The Mission Statement provides further details about the objectives of the DRSTP.

PhD Defense
Gerben Oling
2 October 2018, 12h00

Sam van Leuven
3 October 2018, 12h00

Fernando Rejon-Barrera
12 October 2018, 13h00

Eva Llabres
6 November 2018, 12h00

Sabrina Cotogno
Monday, 15 October 2018, 11h45-12h45
Auditorium of the VU, De Boelelaan 1105, Amsterdam

Tom van Daal
13 December 2018, 12h45 (RUG)

Nicandro Bovenzi
23 October 2018, 15h00
Title: Spin-momentum locking in oxide interfaces and in Weyl
Academy building, Rapenburg, Leiden

Alexandru Babeanu
24 October 2018, 16h15
Title: Emperical signatures of universality, hierarchy and clustering in culture
Academy building, Rapenburg, Leiden

Yvette Welling
27 November 2018, 13h45
Title: Spectroscopy of two-field inflation
Academy building, Rapenburg, Leiden

Jacopo Fumagalli
25 October 2018

DRSTP PhD Day (Friday, 26 October 2018)

DRSTP National Seminar Theoretical High Energy Physics (THEP) (Friday, 16 November 2018)

Upcoming Delta ITP events:

Delta ITP Triangle meetings: Holography

Delta ITP Triangle meetings: Quantum and Topological Matter

Delta ITP Triangle meetings: Theoretical Cosmology


Advanced Topics in Theoretical Physics II (fall 2018)

Last update: 12-10-2018, 14.56